Why haven’t we worked out teaching?

One of the great questions I ask myself is “Why hasn’t someone worked out how to teach yet?”

This is often a question that follows professional development sessions and times when I am reflecting on my own teaching.

The idea of formalised and institutionalised teaching has been around for many years and yet I still attend professional development sessions where I am presented with ideas and pedagogical thinking on the best way to educate our learners. We are also drilled with “We don’t do that anymore!” Why did we do it in the first place if it is such a bad idea?

I guess I should just put that book of how to teach best together myself and that’ll be the end of it. 🙂

BG

Leave a Reply

